Gmail is still on its campaign for the new Google Account inactivity policy that seeks to shed off a population of users who have not logged into their accounts since 2021.
According to this popular and most preferred emailing service, users who have not either read or sent emails, used Google Drive, watched a YouTube video, shared a photo, downloaded any app, used Google Search, or signed in to a third-party app or service for two years will lose their Gmail accounts forever on December 1, 2023.
“When your Google Account has not been used, within a 2-year period, your Google Account, that is then deemed inactive, and all of its content and data may be deleted,” its parent company Google firmly narrates, adding, “the earliest we would enforce any account deletion would be December 2023.”
However, Gmail will not delete all accounts in this policy. There are exceptions for Google’s die-hard fans. Gmails that have made at least a once-off purchase of any Google product and Google Play publishers accounts with apps on PlayStore, including those that manage a minor on Family Link will be spared in the purge.
In a cryptic communiqué from Google, supposedly to be read by users who will lose their accounts later in the year, the technology company that founded Gmail in 2004 says that by “having strong privacy practices,” it decided to do a massive data wipeout “to protect your private information and prevent any unauthorized access to your account even if you’re no longer using our services.”
Gmail accounts pending deletion can still be rescued by a simple login. Check the mailbox of your recovery email (if any) if you cannot access your main account to find out if it will be deleted.