Elgeyo Marakwet is one of the 47 constituent counties of Kenya, bordering West Pokot County to the North, Baringo County to the East, and Uasin Gishu County to the West.

Ranking 28th among Kenya’s counties in terms of total area, Elgeyo Marakwet, sometimes written as Elgeiyo Marakwet, was part of Rift Valley province before the promulgation of the constitution in 2010 to bring about devolution.

It has a total area of 3029.9 Km², and its geographic location has been the key factor in its long and colorful development in agriculture as the Elgeyo Marakwet landscape is divided into three topographic zones comprising highlands, Kerio Valley and Keiyo Escapement area which has some of the most fertile soils in the country.

Thus, Agriculture is the main economic activity in Elgeyo Marakwet, but some areas below the Keiyo escarpment are arid, and the occupants practice pastoralism combined with subsistence farming.

This county is dominantly occupied by the Keiyo and Marakwet tribes, the Keiyos occupying most parts of Keiyo South, one of the four sub-counties of Elgeyo Marakwet.

The four sub-counties of Elgeyo Marakwet are Keiyo South, Keiyo North, Marakwet West, and Marakwet East. Their central point is at Iten, where the county’s capital sits.

Elgeiyo Marakwet’s fast facts and population

Size: 3029.9 Km2
County’s capital: Iten
Population: 532,264
Main economic activity: Agriculture
Sub-counties: Four – Keiyo South, Keiyo North, Marakwet West, and Marakwet East
The most populous sub-county: Marakwet West (155,875)

What wards are in Elgeyo Marakwet County?

Elgeyo Marakwet consists of 20 wards that form part of the Elgeyo Marakwet County Government, whose head is Governor Wisley Rotich, elected for the first time in the 2022 General Elections to serve until 2027.

These wards are evenly distributed in two of its sub-counties each, Keiyo South and Marakwet West having six-six, Keiyo North and Marakwet East having four-four.

Who are Elgeyo Marakwet leaders?

Who are Elgeyo Marakwet elected leaders?

Check out all the elected officials in Elgeyo Marakwet. The Governor is Wisley Rotich, and the Senator is William Kipkemoi Kisang, who was once the Member of Parliament of Marakwet West.

Elected officials: Members of Parliament (MPs)

There are four MPs in Elgeyo Marakwet, representing the four sub-counties included as constituencies of the county:

No. Elgeyo Marakwet MP Representing;
1. Gideon Kimaiyo Keiyo South Constituency
2. Adams Kipsanai Keiyo North Constituency
3. Timothy Kipchumba Toroitich Marakwet West Constituency
4. David Kangongo Bowen Marakwet East Constituency

All Elgeyo Marakwet MCAs and their wards

MCAs are Members of County Assemblies representing the wards in counties.

All Elgeyo Marakwet MCAs and their wards

Since there are 20 wards in Elgeyo Marakwet, there are twenty elected MCAs to represent these wards, but in the county assembly, there are other nominated ones who represent special interest groups like the youth and people with disabilities (PWDs).

Here is the list of all elected MCAs in Elgeyo Marakwet and the wards they represent. It also includes the nominated MCAs

1. Kipyatich Paul Kipchumba – MCA Embobut Embolot Ward
2. Cheruiyot Stephen Kemboi – MCA Kapchemutwa Ward
3. Kosgei Evans Kimutai – MCA Cherang’any chebororwa Ward
4. Kibire Lawi Kipng’etich – MCA Metkei Ward
5. Kiplagat Hillary Kipchirchir – MCA Moiben Kuserwo Ward
6. Chepseba Simeon Kibet – MCA Soy North Ward
7. Cheptiony Benjamin Kipkemboi – MCA Kamariny Ward
8. Barsulai Alfred Kipkoech – MCA Kabiemit Ward
9. Chesire Dominic – MCA Tambach Ward
10. Chebet Joseph Kipkorir – MCA Kapyego Ward
11. Kibiwott Jeremiah Kiptum – MCA Endo Ward
12. Kimutai Mathew Cheruiyot – MCA Kaptarakwa Ward
13. Cheboiboch Christopher Kangogo – MCA Emsoo Ward
14. Kipruto Joshua – MCA Kapsowar Ward
15. Kiptoo Asbel Kisang – MCA Sengwer Ward
16. Koima John Kimeli – MCA Chepkorio Ward
17. Kurgat Pricillah Jepkoech – MCA Lelan Ward
18. Mutwol Justine kosgei – MCA Arror Ward
19. Tanui Jonah Kipkorir – MCA Soy South Ward
20. Suter Paul Kipkemoi – MCA Sambirir Ward

Elgeyo Marakwet nominated MCAs

21. Kiptoo Evalyne Jepchumba – Nominated MCA – Gender
22. Kiptoo Peris Jelagat – Nominated MCA – Gender
23. Kimitto Salina Jemosop – Nominated MCA – Gender
24. Biwott Davies Kimutai – Nominated MCA – PWD
25. Lai victoria Jemutai – Nominated MCA – PWD
26. Rotich Jebet Eddah – Nominated MCA – Gender
27. Bowen Stella – Nominated MCA – Youth
28. Cherop Rosa – Nominated MCA – Gender
29. Karen Jelagat Koech – Nominated MCA – Gender
30. Kimoning Tabitha Jepkirui – Nominated MCA – Gender
31. Kosgei Sally Jebet – Nominated MCA – Gender
32. Nge’tich Gilbert Kipkosgei – Nominated MCA – Youth